2017 MIHS Programming Contest

This was TeamsCode’s first biannual programming competition! There was a great turnout of 103 students, or 41 teams. This contest was held in the Mercer Island High School Commons on April 1st from 9:30 – 3:00. Congratulations to the winners of this advanced division, the Dystopic Dynausaurs from Nikola Tesla STEM High School.

Tudor Fanaru, Yury Sudzilouski, and Frederick Qin

The list of winners is shown below:

Advanced Division

  1. Dystopic Dynausaurs from Nikola Tesla STEM High School – 740 points
    • Tudor Fanaru, Yury Sudzilouski, and Frederick Qin
  2. US Math from Catlin Gabel School – 695 points
    • Mathus Leungpathomaram
  3. The Three Lambdas from Garfield High School – 695 points
    • Tommy Morriss, Ulysses Foote-McNabb, and Nate Reid

Advanced Scoreboard

Intermediate Division

  1. ASCII Artists from Garfield High School – 495 points
    • Lukas Strobel, Michael Khuu, and Luis Martinez
  2. CC Barcelona from Skyline High School – 450 points
    • Nishesh Chakrapani, Kevin Kim, and Daniel Wan
  3. Vlad from Willows Preparatory School – 400 points
    • Vlad Ovechkin, William Baxter, and Lukas Tomita

Intermediate Scoreboard

Competition Files

Problem Packet

Judges Answer Packet

Input txt Files




  • Syma X5C Quadcopter
  • Amazon Fire Tablets
  • Pebble Time Smartwatch
  • Amazon Echo Dot
  • and much, much more…

TeamsCode would like to thank the Living Computer Museum as well as Earl Bergquist for helping supply many of the amazing prizes for this contest!










We’d like to thank the following people for being influential in the organization of this contest.

Main Organizers

  • Alan Bi
  • Chris Elliott

Other Organizers

  • Henterson Carlisle
  • Earl Bergquist


  • Erin Bond
  • Grant Bower
  • Henterson Carlisle
  • Yeni Capote Diaz
  • Bran Hagger
  • Jeannie Hunnicutt
  • Alyssa Hursh
  • Ren Jaecks
  • Lawrence Tanimoto

Additional Help

  • Grant Bower
  • Michael Greenbaum


Finally, we’d like to thank the following schools for participating in our contest!  This year, the top represented school was Newport High School with eight teams!

  • Mercer Island High School
  • Nikola Tesla STEM High School
  • Newport High School
  • Garfield High School
  • Skyline High School
  • Odle Middle School
  • Islander Middle School
  • Bellevue High School
  • Mountlake Terrace High School
  • Willows Preparatory School
  • Lynnwood High School
  • Lake Oswego High School
  • Bishop Blanchet High School
  • Tahoma High School
  • Interlake High School
  • Seattle Preparatory School
  • Issaquah High School
  • Catlin Gabel School
  • Lakeside Middle School